For a Gluten-Free Passover or Easter, Try Quinoa!

DucasseDishPhoto Credit: FoodRepublic.com

Holidays always bring special challenges to those with dietary restrictions. Luckily, hosting a gluten-free Passover is actually fairly easy– as those who observe the holiday are encouraged to abstain from chametz or the five grains (wheat, spelt, barley, oats, and rye.) However, until recently, quinoa was considered to be a grey area.

This year, kosher quinoa has been deemed acceptable for Passover. So, how to incorporate this nutrient-rich ancient grain into your menu? Here are some ideas:

Mixed Berry Quinoa with Roasted Almonds, Chabad.org
Stuffed Artichokes, Clean Eating Chelsey
Apricot-Quinoa Stuffed Turkey Breast, This American Bite
Quinoa Tabbouleh Salad, The Shiksa in the Kitchen

Easter can be a little trickier for gluten-free folk, with all the bunny-shaped rolls and cookies on display. However, many gluten-free flours (including our Ancient Harvest 100% Whole Grain Quinoa Flour) are now readily available, which makes baking holiday treats so much easier!

Here are some ways to incorporate quinoa into your Easter celebration this year:

Rustic Asparagus Quinoa Tart, Rewards for Mom
Alain Ducasse’s Quinori Cocotte, Food Republic
Alyssa’s Quinoa Coconut Macaroons, Simply Sugar & Gluten-Free

Also, here is a great list of 25 Gluten-Free Quinoa Dessert Recipes perfect for any special occasion.

Get Recipes, Offers, and More