Unexpected Sources of Gluten Outside the Kitchen

Body care treatment

If you’re living gluten-free, you probably already know which food items to be extra careful about purchasing and consuming. But what about non-food items that may secretly contain gluten? Your favorite skin cream or toothpaste may be gluten-free – but unfortunately, there is also the possibility that it’s not.

 

Here are some unexpected sources of gluten outside of your kitchen:

 

Shampoo, Conditioner and Hair Products

Gluten derivatives are a fairly popular ingredient in hair spray and other products that help to “hold” hair, and some manufacturers like to include them in shampoos and conditioners as well. However, there are also plenty of brands – including popular mainstream ones – that offer gluten-free products. Just be sure to check the labels before purchasing.

 

Toothpaste, Cosmetics and Skin Products

If you are highly sensitive to gluten or living with Celiac disease, you’ll want to be particularly careful with any product that goes on or around the lips. Be sure to check your toothpaste and mouthwash for gluten as well, as you’ll inevitably swallow some.

 

Supplements and Prescriptions

Always be sure to alert a new doctor of any existing allergies, so that he or she will know what not to prescribe. As for over-the-counter supplements, try to stick to those specifically labeled as gluten-free. Otherwise, you may be at risk for consuming hidden gluten because grain is commonly used as a filler or additive in pills. When reading labels, be on the lookout for phrases like “wheat germ” and “textured plant protein.” For a more comprehensive list of gluten ingredients and tips for how to avoid them, visit GlutenFreeSociety.org.

 

Drywall and Building Supplies

Did you know that some brands of drywall and compounds used to conceal drywall (“mudding” compounds) contain wheat? According to the Kansas Wheat Commission & Kansas Association of Wheat Growers, things like insulation, wood substitutes (such as plywood and pressed particleboard materials) and roofing materials may also contain gluten – so if you are highly sensitive, it may be best to have someone else handle these products for you.

 

Children’s Art Supplies

If you or your child are gluten-free, be sure the art supplies you buy or are otherwise exposed to are free of gluten as well. Because they are considered “non-toxic” ingredients, gluten grains can be found in a variety of playthings – including playdough and some finger paints. Luckily, there are many gluten-free options on the market – and to be extra safe, you could even try making your own. You’ll find a variety of recipes and DIY tips on Pinterest – and while you’re there, why not follow Ancient Harvest?

 

 

Disclaimer: We at Quinoa Corporation are not trained medical professionals. Any advice offered by Quinoa Corporation with regard to health issues is not intended to take the place of that offered by trained medical professionals. The goal of our site and responses to your questions is to provide current, accurate information to the best of our ability and for Ancient Harvest Quinoa and Food Merchant products only. If you have health issues or medical questions, please seek answers from trained medical professionals. We advise that you consult with your physician if you are experiencing ANY symptoms of unknown origin.

Get Recipes, Offers, and More